Concept BIU -

Sarath Kumar grabs pole position

Article Details

International rider Sarath Kumar (Idemitsu Honda Ten10 Racing) turned on the power to grab his maiden pole position (1:55.506s) in the premier Super Sport (165cc) class to kick-start his campaign in the third round of the MRF MMSC fmsci Indian National Motorcycle Racing Championship at the MMRT, here on Friday.

The quickest rider on the day was Prabhu Arunagiri (Team Alisha Abdullah), who took the pole position in the Pro-Stock (301-400cc) category, with a best lap of 1:54.808.

Mithun Kumar of Idemitsu Honda Ten10 Racing, with just 21 points from four starts this season, finally made his presence felt by qualifying for pole position in the Pro-Stock 165cc class that was run on MRF slick tyres for the first time.

Ann Jennfer (Sparks Racing), unbeaten this season and seeking to consolidate her position at the top of the leaderboard, was the quickest in the Girls’ (Stock 165cc) category.

Also taking pole positions in the MMSC One-Make Championships for Novice riders were Hyderabad’s Karthik Mateti (TVS, Apache RTR 200) and Chennai’s Mohamed Mikhail (Idemitsu Honda India Talent Cup, CBR 150).